Bringing Opportunities
    to the Communities

Slide 0
Slide 1

About The 40th Anniversary

The event will be held on Thursday, October 4, 2012 at Martin's West, 6817 Dogwood Road. The cost for individual tickets is $100.00; however, in recognition of our 40th anniversary, if you are an S-DC Board Member, Administrator, Faculty or Staff Member and purchase a table of 10, you can get a $40.00 discount for a total cost of $960.00 per table (in honor or our 40th Anniversary)!

Slide 2

Purchase Tickets Info

For tickets or more information, please contact Bert Lee in the Bursar's Office at (410) 276-0306 ext. 272, or (Student Ticket Price is $75.00 with Student I.D.).

Slide 3

Location Information

6817 Dogwood Rd
Woodlawn, MD 21244

View in Google Maps
Slide 4

About The Scholarship Banquet!

Sojourner-Douglass College (S-DC) will celebrate forty years of service at our Fortieth Anniversary Celebration and Sixth Annual Scholarship Banquet! This event allows S-DC to recognize outstanding individuals or organizations whose extraordinary works have served to enrich the lives of others. As a private institution, this event also serves as one of our major fund raising events for scholarships and tuition assistance for students that are enrolled in our College who have real financial needs.

We also award scholarships to five (5) outstanding students at this event from the Dr. Charles W. Simmons Scholarship Fund, named in honor of our President & Founder Dr. Charles W. Simmons, among the longest standing presidents of any one college in the nation!

Meet Recipients

2012 Dr. Charles W. Simmons Scholarship Fund Award Recipients Are:

Karen King Arika Norwood
Danielle Bond Karen King Arika Norwood
Chabria Thomas   Charyl Youngblood

2012 Frederick Douglass Unsung Hero and Sojourner Truth Unsung Heroine

This year, the 40th Anniversary and 6th Annual Scholarship Banquet Committee, with the support of Dr. Charles W. Simmons, has selected Dr. Howard L. Simmons, Executive Vice President as our 2012 Frederick Douglass Unsung Hero and Mrs. Constance Stewart, Dean, Salisbury Campus as our 2012 Sojourner Truth Unsung Heroine!

Both honorees have significantly and consistently influenced the College's evolution, growth and overall success - yet have often gone unnoticed for their efforts.

Please join us in saluting Dr. Howard L. Simmons and Mrs. Constance Stewart! They will both be recognized at the Sixth Annual Scholarship Banquet on Thursday, October 4, 2012 at Martin's West.

To help us pay tribute to them, you may send congratulatory remarks and greetings, which will appear in our upcoming banquet souvenir journal. Thank you, and again, congratulations to this year's honorees!

40TH Anniversary Honorary Chairpersons

Honorable Elijah E. Cummings
Congressman, 7th District

Honorable Martin O'malley
Governor, State of Maryland

Honorable Stephanie Rawlings-Blake
Mayor, City of Baltimore

Donald C. Fry
President & CEO, Greater Baltimore Committee

R. Donahue Peebles
Chairman & CEO, The Peebles Corporation

Contact Us

For information on the
40th and upcoming events

or call: 410.276.0306
Toll Free: 1.800.732.2630

Follow Us